1. LastMindToSanity

LastMindToSanity Contributor Contributor

Is Less More?

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by LastMindToSanity, Feb 12, 2018.

Setup: So, I'm new to the whole writing game. Hell, a lot of people could gather that from the sheer amount of questions I've been posting (sure it's only been three, but I've only been on the site for a couple of days). I'm pretty confident in my characters and the story I have going, but I'm not too sure about my ability to create a plausible setting. Given this, I've decided that how I described my settings (as well as everything else) will be done by giving a general outline of what it is. I understand that no one will see exactly what I see when I write, so I decided that I wouldn't describe every little detail in my mind, but I would instead let the individual readers imagine every unimportant detail. I'm not sure if this is already a common thing for people to do and I'm just uninformed about it, but I think that this approach to it would help the reader sort of, engage themself in the story? I mean, you always care about something more when you yourself come up with it, right? So wouldn't it make sense that if someone reads about "a crumbling tower", they would imagine how every crack looks and become more attached to the image? I don't know, maybe I'm rambling about things that don't make sense.

Question: Is a minimalist approach to descriptions a viable option for new writers, or is there a better method?

Andrew Alvarez likes this.
  2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor