1. Agatha Christie

Agatha Christie New Member

Is there a difference between self-publishing and vanity press publishing?

Discussion in 'Self-Publishing' started by Agatha Christie, Feb 15, 2012.

removed

2. Jamez

Jamez New Member

The difference, I think, is in how you do it and how many of your books you manage to sell. One can hardly speak of vanity publishing when an author manages to shift 10.000 copies of his self-published work. It's a little misguided, however, to believe that such a success is easy or comes cheap. Successful self-published authors usually put in a vast amount of work (besides writing) to get those sales.

Putting your book up on lulu or createspace and then sitting back, waiting for the dollars (or pounds or euros) to come rolling in? That's what I'd call vanity publishing! Also a little stupid / naive.

(I have no experience self-publishing a book; but I did release a couple of albums with original music all by myself... it's tough!)

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

i see no difference...

it's all based on the fact that the author's 'vanity' deems his/her work worthy of being published, despite what agents or 'real' publishers [the ones that pay you, instead of v/v] may think of it...

4. shadowwalker

shadowwalker Contributor Contributor