Tags:
  1. TirelessSeven

TirelessSeven Active Member

Is this too unusual, structurally?

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by TirelessSeven, Nov 26, 2018.

Okay, so I'm pretty confident in my writing - at least my willingness to persevere with it until I think it's good - but I have this story... actually, I have 120,000 words written (give or take) of a novel that I've been working on for about three years. The first-draft is roughly three-quarters done and I would like to trim it down (ideally) to less than 100,000 (complete) if possible. I mean, if the story ends up being 200,000 words and it's the best thing I can make it, I'll take that, although I realise such a hefty word count would make the possibility of an agent or a publisher taking a chance on it even more unrealistic.

In case the words-per-month ratio didn't give it away: I'm not a professional. I've never been published anywhere. In fact, the novel is my first attempt at writing since high school (which was a long time ago for me now), aside from a bit of poetry and song-lyrics, and one (very) short-story. That's enough background.

My novel. I worry it's a bit too... strange - especially for an unknown - to pitch it to agents, publishers, etc. But, since that's what I plan to do, I guess I'm wondering what you guys think. Not of my chances of being published - I know how slim those are already - more the concept of the book, its structure, etc.