1. jshack57

jshack57 New Member

Suggestions for copy and/or style editors

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by jshack57, Aug 25, 2013.

Hey Everyone! I'm a newbie writer and have just completed my first manuscript. It's a chic lit fiction novelette at about 30K words. Looking for a copy editor and maybe a style editor to polish it up. Any suggestions/recommendations? Thanks!

2. Thomas Kitchen

Thomas Kitchen Proofreader in the Making Contributor

I would say that you should avoid proofreaders and so forth; most of it is a waste of money. Instead, try and polish it yourself - it will improve your skills as a writer, as you can learn what does work and doesn't work, and therefore you can use your knowledge and experience when writing later writing projects.

If that isn't an option (although I strongly recommend it), look around your local area and see if you can join a Creative Writing club. Once you're settled, I'm sure you'll find someone who you like, and then you can novel-swap. You can also do this online, but be careful; you don't want someone nicking your manuscript!

Bottom line: don't waste money on editors and proofreaders.

Extra bottom line: learning to edit your book yourself is part of being a writer. James Michener once said, "I'm not a very good writer, but I'm an excellent rewriter."

:)

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

as one who actually provides such services, i nevertheless warn all new writers against paying to have their work professionally edited/rewritten, because it's just tossing money down the drain...

chances that you'll ever recoup the sizeable amounts a good editor has to charge are less than slim to none, since not even the best editor alive can guarantee that the ms will ever be published or, if by some miracle it is, that it'll make enough money from sales to make up for what the editing cost...