1. Moneica

Moneica New Member

I'm new to writing and not knowing.

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Moneica, Apr 2, 2014.

I have started writing a story. I will call it a story cause I have no clue how long it will be when it is finished.
    I have never taken a writing class or had any schooling in this at all. I have a very active imagination, so this helps me out I think. Some of the basic questions I have are,
    1. How long should a chapter be? Is there any guide lines a person should follow on this.
    2. I was told I am a story teller, not a writer. Is there a difference in the two?
    3. I do not use long words or try to sound like something I'm not when I write. I'm just a small town girl from Oklahoma. I write like I talk. Is that a bad thing?
    4. I also have songs and poems I have wrote. One of the most common rules I follow when do that is <K.I.S.S.> Keep It Simple Stupid. Is it best to follow that when writing a story rather it be a short story or a novel?
    I have always loved to read, and like most, I have my favorite Authors and books that I have read many times. What I am writing I have had in my head for many years and decided it was time to put it to paper.
    Thank you all for any help you can give me on this matter.
    Thanks
    Moe

2. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor

Hi, welcome to the group Moneica!
    Neither have I, just read some how-to write books and of course I write.

1. Chapters are as long as they are, they can be 1 paragraph or many pages. Depending on your genre though, some readers appreciate shorter chapters and if it's action packed, it helps the pace.

2. Storytellers can use gestures, voice modulation to enhance their story, all that is lost when you write. All you have
    is words and they must provide the emphasis and interest.

3. Not at all! Big words don't necessarily mean better writing.