1. Awz

Awz Member

Leaving the children behind? For the parents.

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Awz, Jul 2, 2017.

I've started the sequel to my WIP, which is currently in the hands of several beta readers. The sequel takes place approximately ten years later. My main character has a four-year-old. Not wanting to lead his son into the danger he himself is going to, he leaves his son with a trusted friend while he and his wife "save the world". They'll be gone for six months to a year.
    I don't have children myself, lots of nieces and nephews though. A child this young, with parents being gone for so long, would his son remember the parents when they returned? How well? How much would he understand of their leaving? Would he be likely to think they left because of something that he (the son) had done?
    A lot of questions I know. I also know that trying to understand a four-year-old is futile, but I have little experience with kids.

Thanks

2. Cave Troll

Cave Troll It's Coffee O'clock everywhere. Contributor

Where cushions are comfy, and straps hold firm.
    This is a 50/50. It depends on how long they will be gone for.
    A year, they would likely remember them. Beyond that IDK.

I don't have any chillins my self, but half a dozen nieces. :)

3. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

Random thought: During World War II, a lot of London kids were sent to the country, away from their parents. I'm betting that a fair amount has been written about that; that might provide some inspiration.

Awz and Cave Troll like this.
  4. Kalisto

Kalisto Senior Member

I watched children as daycare worker, many of them within the age of 4-5 years old. I quit to go overseas and returned 18 months later, because the boss was a good friend of mine. They remember you.

Awz likes this.
  5. Stormsong07

Stormsong07 Contributor Contributor