1. deadrats

deadrats Contributor Contributor

less dialog

Discussion in 'Dialogue Development' started by deadrats, Nov 10, 2022.

The more experienced of a writer I become, the less dialog I find myself using. I'm wondering if this is true for any of you. Early on as a writer, I found myself writing pages of dialog at times. It seemed like an easier way for a story to unfold. And I was told I was good at dialog in one of my first creative writing courses so I think I sort of ran with it.

But now I've sort of learned how to better play with prose. And I think dialog can have a more profound effect when used sparingly. For me, I like this change in my work. My writing and my stories seems more mature and polished under this approach.

What is your approach to using dialog and how much do you rely on dialog? Have you changed your approach like I have or have you found something that works for you and you're sticking with it? What about as a reader? I'm not a fan of long bouts of dialog in stories. Of course, some is good, but I don't like it when it's overdone or goes on for too long. What are your thoughts on this?

2. AlyceOfLegend

AlyceOfLegend Senior Member Contest Winner 2022

Currently Reading::
    Fanfiction- Stranger Things, Supernatural
    I have the opposite thing happening because I wasn't that good at dialogue early on. I do like a balance, though. Too much of either and I lose the sense of the story.

3. deadrats

I guess I sort of disagree with you. I don't see it as a balance and I don't think you want it to be. I guess what I'm saying is I've found less dialog to be more effective.

Last edited: Nov 13, 2022
    Seven Crowns likes this.
  4. AlyceOfLegend

AlyceOfLegend Senior Member Contest Winner 2022

Currently Reading::
    Fanfiction- Stranger Things, Supernatural
    For your stories, less is good. For mine more dialogue was needed. It's working better for my characters and the story arcs.