1. Bruce James

Bruce James Member

Writing for a Living

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Bruce James, Aug 5, 2016.

I'd love to hear stories of how writers here make ends meet. I've been doing some research and I see a lot of opportunity for people to take my money in exchange for a six figure income, lol. But there also seems to be markets to exploit based on my background. Do you do work copywriting, ghost writing, blogging, etc? How has it worked out for you? Do you have any references and warnings?

2. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

I'm a bid writer. I don't know if people generally understand the bid process (I didn't have a clue before I fell into the role) but when public sector organisations need suppliers, they have to put the opportunity on the open market and let eligible suppliers bid for the work. My job is to write a bid that convinces the authority my company is the best one for the job.

It's great for my fiction writing in several ways:
    - There are always word/page limits, so I have to be disciplined in writing very tightly.
    - It has immovable deadlines (really immovable, pleading doesn't work) so I can't pretend writer's block exists. Well, I could, but then I'd be out of a job... so I know that it's always, always, always possible to write.
    - It requires creativity, because sometimes we AREN'T the best people for the job but I have to make it seem like we are.

It's a great career IMO. There aren't many of us, so we're in high demand. It pays anywhere from £30k - 70k depending on experience and level of responsibility.

3. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

I did a little bit of ghostwriting. It paid OK and was interesting, but I just rely on my day job now.

4. Margaery

Margaery New Member

Now I made it with blogging and, sometimes, ghostwriting. I have enough money to pay bills and go to college. But when I will earn my degree, I'm not sure that I will keep doing ghostwriting.

5. Nathen