1. Lorraine Johnson

Lorraine Johnson New Member

Location setting opinions/ Japanese name ideas

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Lorraine Johnson, Dec 18, 2012.

My book is a real life type scenario with a band touring the country. I have left the country and cities names out of it because I'd like people to be able to relate thinking it might be in their country where ever that is. I read a book on writing and it told me I should always be specific of where the story is based. Do you think that's true? Should I add the locations?

Also in my book, there is a girl who flies between Japan and the English speaking country (could be Australia, America, New Zealand etc. again, I'm leaving it to the reader.) I want her English name to mean something else in Japanese but it's been years since I studied the language so I can't remember many Japanese words. Does anyone here speak it and know of any names that could be lost in translation?
    The only word I know is Sara which means 'plate', but it's pronounced Sah-rah not Ser-rah which most people would read it as, so I was looking for something more specific.

2. Griplan

Griplan New Member

I just had the same situation of coming up with Japanese names. I went to a baby name site and looked at the list until something jumped out at me. They usually have the meanings attached to them as well.

3. Cerebral

Cerebral Active Member

I can't help you with the character name, but how would you describe where they are? Especially if they're moving about...would you just describe the surroundings? Even if you didn't mention the names of the cities/towns/states/provinces/whatever, wouldn't it be obvious where on the map the story's taking place (A city in the middle east is nothing like a city in the West, for example)? Especially if you mention what people are wearing, how they speak, how they act, etc...