1. Mordis

Mordis New Member

Co-author needed

Discussion in 'Collaboration' started by Mordis, Jun 5, 2013.

I'm currently writing a story, but here's the problem.... I'm not very good at writing.

I have a plot, I have characters, and all day I'm obsessing and making notes on place names, plot-lines, little speeches and other miscellaneous ideas while I should be really revising. I know I can create and visualize every last detail of the story in my head, but when it comes to translating those piles of notes into solid prose, I'll either collapse under the terrible burden of perfectionism or, as is usually the case, I'll get bored.

So I have decided to seek out another writer who will help me with my story and, when I feel like giving up, they will push me to go on.

I'm looking for someone with talent not in imagination, but in creativity. By this I mean they have knowledge of rhetoric and metaphors and emotive language and paragraph structure and all the other things that make the reader interested in the story. I could never pay attention for long enough in English to learn how to use all those devices and so now I lack creativity, while positively busting at the seams with imagination. And that is how this collaboration will work: I get the ideas, you make them appealing to an audience. Two halves make an author. :)

The plot (Without giving too much away over the internet)

The genre of the story is Science Fantasy, a phrase I just made up but apparently already exists. It has many of the elements you would expect to find in fantasy (Gods, Demons, "magic") but uses a type of made-up science to explain it. As you will already be able to tell, its REALLY nerdy.