1. ruskaya

ruskaya Contributor Contributor

in search of middle-grade and YA recommendations

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by ruskaya, Apr 14, 2020.

I want to read some middle-grade and YA novels to get the feeling if those would be age-ranges I would like to write for. I started a story, possibly a novel, full of adventures tapping into my pre-adolescent and early adolescent imagination. Lately I have been remembering things I enjoyed and what adventures in my head got me excited during those years...and I got excited again about those during a few sleepless nights! But I have no experience reading middle-grade and YA novels, besides the first of the Hunger Games. Let me anticipate that dystopian is not what I am after.

In summary, I am in search of fantasy, SF, fiction novels for middle-grade and YA that can inspire my writing.

Any recommendations for a starter like me?

2. Cdn Writer

Cdn Writer Contributor Contributor

Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, North America
    Currently Reading::
    TRYING (!!!) to read Eric Flint's "Ring of Fire" series.......it's soooo many books!!!!!
    Gordon Korman - he started writing when he was 12 and he was published at 13!! He's Canadian as well. My niece liked "No More Dead Dogs" and the Slacker series ("Slacker" & "Level 13") while my favourite was " The Chicken Doesn't Skate!"

Andrew Clement has a LOT of middle grade work. "Frindle" is probably the most well known but I personally liked "School Story" better.

"The Relecuant Journal of Harry K Larson" - Susin Nielsen is an awesome book. She also wrote, "George Clooney, PLEASE marry my mom!"

Eoin Colfer's Atemis Fowl series - the beginning reminds me of Harry Potter but he remains 11 years old throughout the whole series - or he ages very slowly from book to book.

There's lots of others, those are just the ones I've read and re-read. Enjoy!

Scott

ruskaya likes this.
  3. ruskaya

ruskaya Contributor Contributor

thank you!