Tags:
  1. Bluezip

Bluezip New Member

Making a Character a Nice Guy to Everyone but the Protagonist

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Bluezip, Jan 28, 2019.

Hi, everyone! I'm super new to this forum, but I've been looking for a writing community for some time and it seems like fun! I'm a novice writer, but I'd like to get some advice on how to handle some things in a story I'm putting together.

This is a pretty vague and quick plot summary, but here we go: it's about a pair of twins losing their family and getting sucked into a whole bunch of magic-based problems. One twin supports the other, who's pretty fragile and cowardly, as she pushes away her own feelings. The younger twin, not wanting to be a burden, gets tricked into taking on a magical religious-type duty so that she won't have to, but he doesn't realize what it entails until it's too late. His surviving mother refuses to associate with him any longer, and the older twin protects him again by disowning her own mother in favor of staying with her brother. The two also have a close friend, but this friend also refuses to interact with the brother after what happens... And here lies my issue.