1. doctor_lester

doctor_lester New Member

A Book of the Eldritch?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by doctor_lester, Nov 7, 2015.

I have about 150 very short true stories (about 500 words each) about a variety of weird and wonderful topics ranging from survival stories to unexplained mysteries -all edited, accompanied by an eye-grabbing image, and condensed onto a single A4 page. They are just sitting on my computer's hard drive gathering electronic dust -I'm an English teacher, and I wrote them as a basis for vocabulary class. So far, they have lined only the pocket of my boss, and they are crying out to be published -each one is a peach.

I'll give you a couple of examples. The latest one is the story of Blanche Dumas (a woman born with two functioning vaginas) and Juan Baptiste dos Santos (a man with two functioning penises), and how they met and fell in love. It's a true story, I swear. Google it if you don't believe me. They are not all so...risque, of course. Another one is the tale of Jewel Shuping, a sufferer of Body Identity Integrity Disorder (BIID) who poured drain cleaner into her eyes because she wanted to be blind. Yet another is Prahlad Jani, who has not eaten, drunk, urinated nor defaecated in over 70 years.

It seems like a crime to not publish them. My problem is how to put them together, and how to market it. I've been thinking about an anthology, an ESL vocabulary textbook, an illustrated coffee-table book...etc. I know it's bad form to ask for help in my first post, but I'll stick around and add to the forum...I promise ;)
    Any suggestions?

2. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor