1. Evenstar606

Evenstar606 Member

Medical testing questions

Discussion in 'Research' started by Evenstar606, Sep 24, 2020.

Hi, this is my first time posting here on the Writing Forum. My main character is a 13 year old boy. Ten days after he survives a vampire attack, he arrives at the hospital with symptoms such as fatigue, high fever, headache, body aches, vomiting and stomach pain, sore throat, and swollen lymph glands. He also has a rash spreading from the bite site.

An exam and blood work are done, revealing low white blood count and low red blood count, plus something else odd in his blood.

His final diagnosis will be a (fictional) virus spread by vampires that affects his immune system and the production of certain blood cells. Similar to HIV, only it’s spread to humans by vampires, and isn’t passed from human to human. I’ve also tried researching Epstein Barr virus and Lyme for inspiration.

My character starts showing symptoms within days of infection, much quicker than the “normal” incubation period for this virus. Two weeks to 30 days for most victims. Prior to this attack, he suffered from frequent, unexplained migraines that started at age 11, and his doctors believe that might be the reason this virus affected him so quickly. The virus is chronic and destructive if long term antiviral treatment isn’t started.

I’m wondering what all tests they will run to rule out other illnesses, before they figure out his diagnosis. Other than blood work. The doctors treating him have seen this virus in humanoids before, but not the humans of earth, so they’d want to be absolutely sure.

Also of note, his doctors are demons who work in a special research hospital. I just need to know a realistic idea of what testing leads up to diagnosis, and how long it would take. I’m thinking he’ll need at least blood work and a bone marrow aspiration. Thank you!

2. Naomasa298

Naomasa298 HP: 10/190 Status: Confused Contributor

Well, is it a virus or a bacteria?