Tags:
  1. Shiro

Shiro New Member

1950s London + accounting/finances

Discussion in 'Research' started by Shiro, Aug 20, 2013.

Hi, a newbie here, both to the forum and to in-depth research (but it's never too late, right? :)

I have a character who was born in late 1920s London and supposedly worked for a relatively unimportant accounting firm there in late 1950s.

I'm trying to

(a) get a sense of where the firm might have been situated (The City maybe? or is that only for prestigious firms?) and what the office/people working there would have been like.

I'd watched the British series The Hour but I'd like some other sources.

(b) find a book set in that timeline that would give me an idea about the people.

Thanks in advance!

2. The Peanut Monster

The Peanut Monster New Member

Like all research, Google is probably a good start. "London financial district 1950" or something like that could work. My knowledge of the City is that even in 1950 there were financial services there...

3. BritInFrance

BritInFrance Active Member

My dad trained as a chartered accountant and came down to London (from Scotland) at the end of the 1950s. Unfortunately, he died two years ago (and wasn't much of a talker, anyway).

You could ask the Institute of Chartered Accountants for some advice. No idea how helpful they would be, but like all institutions with a long history, they should be proud enough of it to have details of particular eras...
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Institute_of_Chartered_Accountants_in_England_and_Wales#History

4. Shiro

Shiro New Member

Thanks, yeah, I've been googling stuff every now and then, I'm just a bit intimidated by how much I /don't/ know. I only need a few sentences of cohesive background and maybe one flashback set in his office so I can go with a generic office as glimpsed on photos/tv screen but it would be nice to know where it was located and what the heck they did all day in there :D

5. Shiro

Shiro New Member