1. Laurin Kelly

Laurin Kelly Contributor Contributor

Can Anyone ID This Style of House For Me

Discussion in 'Research' started by Laurin Kelly, Mar 16, 2019.

I'm working through my edits on Gravity, and my editor believes that I am not using the correct term to describe Jaeden's house in the Hollywood Hills (I used the word bungalow, but she says bungalows don't have stairs). I am a writer and data analyst, not a real estate agent, so I am inclined to believe her, but I need to find out what the right word is and the Google machine is failing me.

This picture is very similar to what Jaeden's house looks like :

Jaeden's House.JPG

Help me, writingforums community!

2. XRD_author

XRD_author Banned

3. Hammer

Hammer Moderator Staff Supporter Contributor

A bungalow is generally a house on a single storey which this may be, over the garage, but it still doesn't really look like a bungalow

I would probably describe the house in your picture as a villa, which does have a specific meaning but tends to be used as a cover-all for a suburban house which doesn't really fit into any other category

4. Iain Sparrow

Iain Sparrow Banned Contributor

Your editor is correct, a bungalow is single story.
    What I'm seeing in that pic is a modern ranch style, which is to say it's 1950s-1960s era. Might also fall into Craftsman, but lacks some details in my opinion.

5. NobodySpecial

NobodySpecial Contributor Contributor

I’m sure you could ask ten people what architectural style that buildng is and get fifteen different answers. The best I can do is to call it a contemporary Californian bungalow with some strong Frank Lloyd Wright influences, and to a lesser extent some influence from Robert Parker Coffin.

As far as the stairs go, the house is on a hill. If the building is on a higher elevation than the street, there will be stairs. Unless you want visitors traipsing through that lovely landscaping.