1. cutecat22

cutecat22 The Strange One Contributor

MSDigital Image replacement suggestions please

Discussion in 'Writing Software and Hardware' started by cutecat22, Jun 16, 2018.

Hi, all.

Alas, my copy of MSDigital Image (2006) is not longer usable and MS don't make it anymore (and haven't updated or supported it for years). But, I loved it, it was soooooooooo easy to use and quite "oldskool" which suited me as, I'm old. (OK, I'm 45, not exactly ancient but, old.

So, I need a replacement that works much the same, mainly for putting together adverts for my social media pages so that's laying pics on top of other pics, resizing stuff, adding text and maybe adding filters. I can't quite do all of that in the photo-editor that's already installed as part of Windows 10. (unless I'm doing something wrong, which is a possibility).

And the first person to say 'photoshop' will be blanked. I hate photoshop, it's for professionals, and I am not a pro when it comes to photo editing and the such like.

Any ideas? (I've just downloaded Gimp but I'm worried about the steep learning curve that everyone keeps mentioning ...)

Thanks in advance xxx

2. cutecat22

Forget Gimp - it might as well be a free copy of Photoshop with all its black background, small writing, and mention of layers! Ugh!! All I want is a basic drag and drop, cut and paste, add text box, insert and resize a picture, send to back, bring to front, pick up an object and move it, save as editable .png file, or save as a flattened complete jpg file and off we go program. Is that really too much to ask?

*head, desk, ouch*

3. cutecat22

Oh, I've just found Photoscape ... So far, so good!

Cave Troll likes this.
  4. Cave Troll

Cave Troll It's Coffee O'clock everywhere. Contributor

Where cushions are comfy, and straps hold firm.
    :cheerleader:Another happy ending. :cheerleader:

cutecat22 likes this.
  5. Laurin Kelly

Laurin Kelly Contributor Contributor