Tags:
  1. Freespiritgirl

Freespiritgirl New Member

Much needed advice please!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Freespiritgirl, Jan 7, 2020.

Hi I am new to this forum and new to writing, I have recently reduced my working hours and have some much needed time to enjoy activities I have never had time to do before. I have always wanted to write, short stories especially. I am not sure where to start. My main question being there is a 12 week writing course starting at a local college called ‘get writing’. I have never written anything before and so am unsure if doing a course like this would be the ideal start or if this would diminish my confidence if others are more experienced etc. I welcome your guidance and advise please.

2. Hammer

Hammer Moderator Staff Supporter Contributor

Hi @Freespiritgirl - and welcome from me! This is a great forum for fun and knowledge, you will learn a lot by hanging out here, critiquing people's work, maybe putting some of yours up for crit further down the line, but if you have the time and inclination to do the course then do it. It's called "get writing", not "Refresher course for Joycean Scholars" or "Advanced plotting techniques for Booker Prize winners". Writing is an individual thing. There is some commonality like Spelling and Grammar, but even those "rules" can be flouted once you know them. When it comes to readers, one man's meat is very much another man's poison. Someone may hate your work, someone else may adore it. You cannot write for everyone, so enjoy what you write and hope that you are at least writing for someone... or not. Not every writer even shares their work. It really is up to you. I would simply say do it, do it, do it. (which, by the way, isn't grammatically correct...)

3. Xoic

Xoic Prognosticator of Arcana Ridiculosum Contributor Blogerator