1. AnDay

AnDay New Member

Schools

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by AnDay, May 5, 2009.

I think this is the right area for this thread but I'm not to sure.
    Anyways, I'm getting read for my last year of highschool and plan on going to college for writing/english. Does anyone know of any good schools for this major, or does it just not matter where I go? :confused:

2. tarnished

tarnished Contributor Contributor

Heres my opinion:

Many people go to college for writing/english type majors. Many of these people end up being teachers, local news-paper writers, etc. For these type of people having a degree from a expensive school isn't neccessary. When it comes down to it in the writing field, and expensive plaque on the wall is great, but your writing is whats going to book you jobs. So, yes and no.

3. hiddennovelist

hiddennovelist Contributor Contributor

I agree...honestly, I majored in English and a bachelor's degree in English doesn't pull much weight, aside from the fact that it is a degree. No one looks at it and goes "wow, she got a degree in English Literature? That's amazing! And she went to this school? Even better!"

That being said...I went to Arizona State University, and I have a lot of great professors. But there are probably lots of schools out there that equal ASU in the English department. And their writing program is still really new, so it's hard to say whether that's any good or not...

4. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

I would look for a school that fits your budget and geographic needs that has a decent school of journalism.

5. Mercurial

Mercurial Contributor Contributor

Well, if you can afford or manage to get a scholarship, there's no reason not to go to a school famed for their English programs. Otherwise, yeah, stick with an instate school because unless you plan on earning a master's an English degree isnt really prestigious or a money-maker.