Tags:
  1. Harris J Boland

Harris J Boland New Member

My First Novel (somebody help me with this please and give me advice)

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Harris J Boland, May 8, 2019.

To all you wonderful peeps who might take the time to help this poor individual.

It's my first time on one of these forums and I have written my first full novel with a working title; ‘Non-Linear Tales of Appallingly Irresponsible School Boys’ and in short it’s summary is that it is a black comedic satire set in modern day Ireland, and centers on the rebellious students of a once prestigious Irish School.

The intention when writing it was to create something that's gleefully unpleasant whilst dealing with various controversial issues without the constraints of a morality tale. By that I mean it's not educational by any means and it's filled to the brim with outright perverse characters, ranging from despicable, to witty (in my own opinion at least), sexually disturbed to downright neglectful and worse. The story comprises mostly of various sub-plots that all gradually come together in the end in a series twists, (hopefully) unexpected turns and a few anti-climaxes (because Life is also full of them and why shouldn't they go on paper sometimes?).

I laughed a lot while writing it (if I wasn't hyperventilating from laughter it didn't go on the page) and grew horribly uncomfortable writing other parts (if I wasn't squirming it also didn't go on the page). I absolutely enjoyed writing every last sentence of it and never found myself slogging to get finish (I have three journals worth of material that I was very upset not to include).

Somebody please tell me does this constitute a decent read or not or if this thread makes any sense :) and if I need to post a full synopsis I'd be more than happy to. Ta you lovely people

2. Vrisnem

Vrisnem Member

I'm not sure what help or advice you're looking for with this.