1. thelittlethings

thelittlethings New Member

Controversial Narrator

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by thelittlethings, Jan 7, 2018.

Hello everyone :)

At the moment, I'm writing a first person story where the narrator is a serial killer. I've spent a lot of time trying to make sure I keep him in character but that's led me to another worry where I'm scared that, when I attempt to publish, I'll be shut down because the narrator (+ their views) is very unlikeable - narcissistic, not racist/homophobic but considers everyone else beneath him, makes a lot of comments about other people that are ...harsh.

My question is: what are your opinions on a controversial narrator? Would you read a narrator like this even if he has a lot of views that it's unlikely you'll agree with? Could it possibly even be risky to write a book like this? I'm a relatively young author so I'm scared publishers will think I'm just projecting my thoughts which I'm definitely not.

Thank you for reading, have a good day!

2. Francis de Aguilar

Francis de Aguilar Contributor Contributor

I don't people assuming those are your views is going to be the problem. I think it will just be that no one will be able to empathise with the character and want to read it. I could see something where you alternate between that voice and then a third person or omniscient sections concerning those who want to catch or stop him. Deaver does that, but not an easy thing to do well.

3. thelittlethings

thelittlethings New Member

Okay, thank you! Do you think if I applied more of the narrator's vulnerable "human" side, it would help create an empathy between reader and character?

4. Francis de Aguilar

Francis de Aguilar Contributor Contributor

I guess you could try. Tough job to write a serial killer that is going to get the empathy of an audience. You may get people to stick with it for a while, maybe a short story.

5. izzybot

izzybot (unspecified) Contributor