1. livingin360

livingin360 New Member

Novel Want to get into writing again.

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by livingin360, May 17, 2011.

I was wondering if anyone would have advice for a person who would like to write novels that vividly paint the environment and flow of the story as you progress through the book. I am very new to writing and was thinking of starting off by reading a very popular book that sort of carries the style I'd like to have. I would like to end up writing a book like the description above but which also has existential philosophical rhythms carrying out within the book to bring the reader into the mind of the character and teach them deeper aspects to being a human. Do you have any suggestions of where i should start?

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

Well, my view is that you're piling an awful lot of ambitious goals onto this novel, and it sounds like you may be prioritizing those goals above character and story. Can you clarify a little more?

ChickenFreak

3. livingin360

livingin360 New Member

Well I really don't plan on writing a serious novel i just want to learn to write well and in the direction i want. It's sort of just for practice. I was just wondering if there is a good novel you can suggest that i could start reading that i could use for creative inspiration. I was thinking of something with a lot of depth and a good story with emphasis on painting the characters uniquely existentially.

4. StrangerWithNoName

StrangerWithNoName Longobard duke

Perhaps "never let me go" , "the desert of the Tartars" or anything from Kafka and Dostovjeskj.

5. James Scarborough

James Scarborough New Member

Stranger has the right idea. You can't go too far wrong reading Kafka, Dostoyevski, or other great novelists and writers. However, reading foreign language writers in translation may not be the most helpful way to develop your own style.