1. Infel

Infel Contributor Contributor

Natural / Fantasy Methods of Procuring Hydrogen / Helium

Discussion in 'Research' started by Infel, Jul 3, 2019.

Hello, writing friends!

I'm in the process of justifying airships! Ye-olde-medieval-country has access to magic, and also a Mordor-esque region rife with volcanoes, metals, and other such craft-worthy goods. Now, I'm no scientist, but I was hoping having access to this region might provide them with the resources necessary to find and harvest Hydrogen / Helium as the primary way to create big'ole floating balloons to carry their airships. That said, I have no real idea as to how human beings procure such gasses. Does anyone happen to have a mastery of such a subject, and a willingness to teach me the subtle ways of capturing gas? Does hydrogen/helium even occur in nature? I realize I might sound ignorant of basic chemistry facts, but that's a risk I'm willing to take for fantasy airships.

Thanks so much for any insight!

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

Did you reject hot-air balloons for any particular reason?

Edited to add: It appears that "coal gas", whatever that is, was once used for balloons.

Infel likes this.
  3. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

you get hydrogen by electrolysis of water... if you are in fantasy world you could make that more magical and less scientific. Helium is mostly found in the ionosphere, there is a strictly limited supply at the earths surface -it is created by radioactive decay, and found in natural gas pockets (note that hydrogen is highly flamable - vis the hindenberg disaster) helium is inert and much more preferable for airships

Coal gas is a mixture of hydrogen, methane and carbon monoxide made by the distillation of coal... it is the hydrogen that makes it suitable for balloons since the other components are heavier than air