1. ECiCo

ECiCo New Member

Need a Brainstorming Buddy :)

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by ECiCo, Jun 12, 2017.

I haven't written in a few years and this is my first project in a long while, so I'm a tad rusty!

So far, I have a theme for my book, but no solid plot. Alas, my friends hate writing, so I have no one to toss ideas around with. I figured this would be the place to go for some brainstorming. I'd gladly return the favor if you ever have any plot issues you want to discuss too!

I tend to create characters before plots, since I love characters and they're my inspirations for the stories I create. My main character is an 18-year-old male struggling with an eating disorder. He moves to a new school in his senior year and meets two other guys. One is caught up in chaos after getting his girlfriend pregnant, while the other is constantly fighting with his overly religious father.

I want this book to be about the men forming a friendship and finally finding others who care about what's going on in their lives. This is a nice theme, but I feel as though I need something else to move the story along. I obviously don't want it to be merely fluff about friends comforting each other. I'm at a loss as to what the central storyline should be, though.

I began to write the beginning of my story, which was fine and easy, since it was just a lot of setting the scene and introducing my main character. I don't want this whole book to be a sob story about some struggling young adults, though. I fear that without a solid plot, it'll go down the route.

Hopefully I'll get some suggestions as to where I should take this storyline. Thanks to anyone who helps me get the creative juices flowing!

2. Homer Potvin

Homer Potvin A tombstone hand and a graveyard mind Staff Supporter Contributor

Hello and welcome.