1. JadeX

JadeX Senior Member

Novel How do I STOP writing a story?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by JadeX, Feb 21, 2016.

I've been working on my novel for 2 years now and it has become the focus of much of my thought. I'm constantly thinking about it and coming up with new ideas. I've created characters that I care about, situations that grab my interest, and built an ever-expanding world with all kinds of new details that occur to me at every hour of the day and night. It has consumed me.

But I don't want to write it anymore. It's been 2 years and I've hardly done anything with it, there are more characters involved than I can keep track of, and my ideas are so far out there that nobody will ever have a chance in hell of understanding it all. 20 books thrown in a blender could yield a more comprehensive string of words than anything in this godawful trainwreck of a plot.

I want to shut it down, close the door on it, walk away, and never look back. But my story won't let me. I can't get it out of my mind, I'm like a slave to it. I'm so tired of it, it's draining me mentally and emotionally and I just can't do it anymore. How can I effectively kill it once and for all?

(This isn't a cry for help, I'm not looking for encouraging words or motivational quotes or writing advice or any of that crap. I really do want to drive the stake through the heart of my story and bury it. Preferably without starting a new story, or else I'll be back here making this same thread in a few months.)
    (EDIT: Actually, I'm not entirely set on this. The topic of discussion took a turn and caught my interest. We'll see...)

Last edited: Feb 22, 2016
  2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor