Tags:
  1. Froggy

Froggy New Member

How close is too close?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Froggy, May 11, 2011.

So I am hatching out a new MC. I start with a magical talent, give her reason to have it, create her parents, give her a job, and then it strikes me - female, half fey, private investigator. Heck if I haven't read a book like that before.
    That's about it with similarities though...

Any thoughts?

I could make her a journalist, but it would seriously impact her motivation and other characters perception of her... And I personally don't like journalists (they're all so inquisitive :p ), go figure.

2. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

lol I'm a journalist but I"ll help you... ;) I see what you mean though. In most of my stories, the protag is unraveling some kind of conspiracy, murder, phenomenon, etc, so I need to put him/her in a situation that allows him/her to do that. Then I end up with someone in an investigative career, who wants to do the right thing and knows how to dig things up effectively, and then I'm like "Crap, it's a Sue..." lol. But you can easily solve this with some development.

My recommendation is that you give your character some quirks to make them really memorable. Think about Sherlock Holmes and those types; no one picks on them for being cliche, because they are unique and not just the obnoxiously cute/cool and suave superhero who annoys readers.