1. Banananarchiste

Banananarchiste Member

I think I edited too early... (help)

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Banananarchiste, Aug 26, 2017.

Hello,

I have spent the last five months working on my first novel and have learned many many things throughout the process, but of course I am still learning. I spent pretty much all my time structuring the theme, plot and storyline of the wip.
    Right now I wrote 14k words for a first draft of the first four chapters (out of thirty). But about an hour ago I wanted to come back on a big part of the plot. So I changed the storyline, editing all my outline/structure document for those five chapters.
    Right now I have to rewrite those chapters from base one. It's painful... but I'm alright.

So now, while I continue (or restart :supercry:) working on the novel, should I stuck with the outline and consider changing it after I'm completely done writing, or was my idea a good move throughout the writing process?

Thank you very much and have a nice day!

2. Fernando.C

Fernando.C Contributor Contributor

Oh man. I've had a lot of issues with this myself. I've made lot of changes to my novel which has led to me rewrite the first few chapter several times. Not a smart way to go about it. I say try finishing this draft then go back and make all the changes. Write down all the changes you wanna make in a separate document so you don't forget. Then once you've finished this draft you can go back and revise and revise until you satisfied. See, if you go back and rewrite every time you change something it'll take ages to finish your book which can really kill your motivation and take the enjoyment out of writing. Trust me, I learned this the hard way.

3. Homer Potvin

Homer Potvin A tombstone hand and a graveyard mind Staff Supporter Contributor