Tags:
  1. Lazy Cat

Lazy Cat New Member

need help with "checking" my characters.

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Lazy Cat, Feb 19, 2020.

im new to writing storys. i have never published anything and have only been writing small novels as a hobby. now i have been working on my biggest story and have been working on it for years. and now i need someone to help me checking my character to see if im on the right track.
    im a very mistrustfull person and are without any friends except for my husband. and is so afriad that someone will steal my idees but my low selfesstem wins and this is why i will share my characters list.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/10JX4eKpEKhNVWxz81OwPg7hvd9GhKJuM91dWmnb4U5w/edit?usp=sharing

2. Cephus

Cephus Contributor Contributor

Absolutely no one will steal your ideas. Nobody cares. Everyone has more ideas than they could use in a thousand lifetimes.

3. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

And the reason this is true is the following:

1) If a theft is going to happen, the idea phase is the worst moment for it. Every writer has ideas all over the place. In their brains, in the drawer, in the sink, in the tub, in the dog's mouth... There are no end of ideas. Ideas are easy because they require next to no work. In order for an idea to actually become something, you have to pull the nebulous little spirit out of your mind and dress it in flesh and blood and setting and pace and plot and theme and arcs and ancillary characters and sub-arcs, etc. etc. etc.

Stealing an idea is pointless because all the work is still in front of you.

2) No matter how original you think your ideas are, walk into any big-box bookseller and I will bet my immortal soul that your idea already lives somewhere in the pages of one of the books you see before you, and very likely in the pages of several.