1. Arikostinaal

Arikostinaal New Member

Need Help with Synopsis

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Arikostinaal, Nov 5, 2007.

I've been negotiating with a publisher for 3 years (yep, three) and today they turn around and say my Synopsis lets down the story.

While I have a bunch of issues here, my question is: are there examples of good synopses out there?

Because I've written three novels and this is proving almost impossible.

Basically, I could really use some help. My synopsis was a list of 35 chapters, with each specific action bullet pointed. For example:

Chapter One
    * Basil drives to work and sees Sue.
    * John finds out there's a bomb in his toilet. He's really not happy about this.
    * Daniel's head spins off and the gaming club uses it as a bowling ball.

Comments?

Regards

Stuart

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Do what I just did - Google "Synopsis for Publisher", and look at links like the following:

http://www.writing-world.com/publish/synopsis.shtml
    http://www.writergazette.com/linksletters.shtml

I haven't tried submitting anything for publication, but there are other members here who have.

I would have posted this under the Publishing subforum rather than Plot Creation. Let me know if you would like me to move it there.

3. Arikostinaal

Arikostinaal New Member

Thanks. Super useful.

Well, actually not really. Because this is exactly what I've done. So I've NO idea what the publisher wants.

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

first of all, i can't believe you've been 'negotiating' with a publisher for 3 years and they haven't even read the ms yet!... so, what's been going on all this time?...