1. Marcelo

Marcelo Member

Some question on Sci-Fi

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Marcelo, Aug 25, 2008.

So here I am, gathering information on Science Fiction. I'll ask some questions, so please answer them! :D

What's better: The story taking place in an invented System or in the Solar System (invented Galaxy or Milky Way applies to)?

It is okay to have invented Galaxies/Systems where Humans exist? I mean, we are from Planet Earth, not a Galaxy far, far away.

What method do you use to invent alien species and more importantly, name them?

What do you think better: For a story to take place in many planets with space-faring ships and that stuff or that all the story takes places on a planet, with flying ships that look like space-ships?

This is my first time trying to make a Sci-Fi story, and I don't know much about it, so if someone is good enough to help I'll be glad to call you my sci-fi teacher! :D

2. Rapture

Rapture New Member

Alrighty, here we go then =)

First I'd say it won't really matter in the long run if you have your story in a invented universe or in our own galaxy, that being said it is a bit eaier to base it in a place that is "real" so to speak. Creating your own universe is quite tricky, you have to lose a lot of flavoring in your posts (I kept wanting to write phrases like "chicken ****" but if were in another galaxy would they even know what a chicken was o_O).

If you feel confident that you can create a sound universe for your character that is easy to understand without seemingly being thrown together then I say go the creative route and make a entirely new universe. Still, nothing wrong with staying close to home either =)

As far as humans in other galaxy's, why not? It is sci-fi after all. You don't really need to explain why a human is there. If you make him fit in with his surroundings people will just assume he was meant to be there.