1. requiems4robots

requiems4robots New Member

Nervously new

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by requiems4robots, Jun 1, 2016.

Hi everyone! c:

My name is Ashes and I quit writing a very long time ago. I was scared of the inevitable rejection and criticism. Today, however, I am biting the bullet and signed up for Camp NaNoWriMo as well as these forums. I'm hoping to join your community and make friends to help me continue on my writing journey!

I have always loved writing. I've been writing since I knew how, and only quit when the fear became too much. I like to write fantasy and sci-fi, but I want to start writing some subtle horror as well. For Camp NaNo I plan on writing a dark fantasy novel, which is a little outside my comfort zone. I also plan on writing it entirely in third person, something I've never done before. Until then I'm going to work on my writing skills by writing short stories from all genres, and hopefully I can get some feedback here so by the time I begin my novel I'll be back on track!

I'm also very eager just to join an online community and meet new people that share the same interests as me. I don't have very many friends irl so I'll have plenty of time to devote to these forums and writing itself! My other passions include learning how computers work and the languages they speak, as well as studying mental health and pursing a path to reaching a healthy place mentally.

So yeah I'll quit rambling now! c: Nice to meet you all!

Oscar Leigh likes this.
  2. rnorris88

rnorris88 New Member

Welcome, Ashes! Good to have you on board. And don't worry about the rejection thing, once you accept that it's going to happen, the idea becomes much less intimidating. This coming from an actor with a bachelor's in theatre, who is used to a LOT of it!