1. PaperBird

PaperBird New Member

New and slightly intimidated

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by PaperBird, Nov 19, 2008.

Hello! I'm Kate, 20 years old and a Graphic Design student at university. This is my first post here and I've just joined the site. I don't know where to start or why i randomly decided to join but here goes! :D

I've always been more of a visual person, I'm an artist (digital, traditional, fine art, drawing painting, graphics, etc).. But I can't deny that I've always had a love for writing, I'm absolutely terrible at it, but I enjoy it all the same.

My family have always been the type who aren't interested in things like art or literature, so growing up I didn't bother with books much, and when I did, I hid them under my bed because I knew my parents and sister would give me a hard time. (According to them, why read a book when you can just watch tv?) so I was always embarrassed about that type of thing. But I've always enjoyed how books gave me that escape from reality that art does, it takes me somewhere else for an hour or so. And because of this, I've always wanted to write my own book, or even just my own short story.

But the thing is, I'm not confident at all. I've got all these thoughts flying around my head but I can't put them down on paper, I can't put them together to form a story because I have no confidence in my ability to write. The frustrating part for me is my limited vocabulary, I start to write but sometimes I can't fully describe what I mean with words. Which then makes me feel like an idiot and leads to me thinking 'Eh, why bother? leave it to the people who can actually string a sentence together' lol.

But, I'm determined, I've got so much to say and I want that chance to say it. Which is why I joined this site, I'm hoping I might learn alot from the folks here as well as gain more confidence to actually write something =]

Anyway! This was really long, thanks for reading.

2. Cogito