1. zoupskim

zoupskim Contributor Contributor

New Member, Old Writer

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by zoupskim, Feb 8, 2016.

Hello, artists

I'm a new member to the forum, but a long time admirer of the content and people here. I started an account a long time ago, but never really posted or was active since I considered myself a novice and did not have any serious active projects. I am still a novice, but I have recently dedicated myself to developing professionally as a writer, with the goal of becoming a published author. I hope to finish my first proper book before the year is finished, with the following year dedicated to pushing for traditional publication.

I have filled my life with experiences, both hardships and joys. I love conveying the struggle of life in my writing. The first things I ever remember reading was Calvin and Hobbes comics by 'Bill' Watterson. The strife, the philosophy, the rants, getting into trouble, and the redemption. The first thing I ever wrote was my own version of the comic with myself as a goofier Calvin and a wolf as a more violent Hobbes. The Dragonriders of Pern stole my heart soon after, when I learned how to read and follow more complicated material. I still remember sitting on the couch in the dark with Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern and a dictionary, unwilling to allow my feeble prepubescent vocabulary limit my understanding of the deadly outbreak afflicting our hero's home. I added a dragon character to my comic during this time.