1. WingDingGaster

WingDingGaster Member

I can write essays but not stories

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by WingDingGaster, Jun 16, 2016.

Er, hi. Pardon the fandom theme, but I had wanted to use this somewhere, and it's not that bad...

Everyone tells me I'm a good writer, highly literate, etc. I've had several people tell me I should write a novel, and every now and then I have ideas, but I can never manage to put them into any sort of action. They exist only as fragments, and eventually I move on to something else. But I'm enamored with one possibility for a story right now, and thought joining a community to actually, you know, write and critique with might get me to actually put pen to paper (or keystrokes to word processor).

Sorry for the overly long "introduction", but otherwise, hello!

2. I.A. By the Barn

I.A. By the Barn A very lost time traveller Contributor

Hello to you too! What's this story idea that's got you hooked? I'm interested... :pop:

3. Robert Musil

Robert Musil Comparativist Contributor

I'd recommend starting a progress journal on here, personally I've found that if I know other people are even just watching my progress it helps keep me on track.

4. Cave Troll

Cave Troll It's Coffee O'clock everywhere. Contributor

Where cushions are comfy, and straps hold firm.
    Hi, now pound the keys until there is either no more keys, or all you are left with are stumps of mangled flesh where fingers use to be. And then continue. Hopefully in the end you have a story, or at least one hell of a beginning to a story. :supergrin:

bang-head-on-keyboard.gif~c200.gif

5. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor