1. live2write

live2write Senior Member

Fictional Reflection of the Writer

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by live2write, Mar 8, 2012.

Hello Everyone,

I am excited that I am finally starting on my novel that I have been developing for six years. It started as a way for me to learn how to write better in school because my school failed to teach me how to write better. It started from a dream that I wrote over and over again until it sounded proper. My english teacher noticed my writing improved where I started with C's and ended with A's

The main character of the story is a reflection of myself with fictional elements.

The main character is Amber. She is a general of the country's student military. At a young age she climbed up the ranks with the influence of her father who is the head master of the academy. Her mother is a house wife who is also her best friend. The mother is a guide to help her through her troubles.

An incident happened where her lifestyle and personality changed. Before the incident she was courageous, strong, never questioned authority and took no for an answer. After the incident her father put her on sabbatical after not filing a complete report of the incident. When she is angry her veins would pop and change colors and her eyes would glow. Before she had herself to guide her and after she hears a voice in her head that tells her what to do. Before she had no emotion for loving a man and after she feels sympathetic and wants somebody to be with her.

My spouse pointed out that I should put elements of myself as the main character and at the same time find a separation between the main character and myself as the writer. I plan on writing this in first person. I also use the people and personalities around me to help make the story believable. Should I add a separation between myself and the main character or should I keep using myself as the main character in this fantasy.

Suggestions?

2. UrbanBanshee