1. Anthony Marc

Anthony Marc Guest

New writer: get started tips sought

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Anthony Marc, Mar 7, 2018.

Hi friends,
    I am writing my second book , but I am not an expert in writing although I have high ambitions.
    I wonder: who can I talk to about genre structure and writing style? I guess it's a biography mostly. What books do you recommend me ? I got a tips that Stephen King has a good book about writing.
    I also seek to get in touch with a writer who can be my mentor as well; how did you get started to write a book that sold well over 100,000 units ?
    And what if an editor just copy and paste your work to resell it somewhere else in another language?
    With hope to get your advice

2. lonelystar

lonelystar Active Member

Hi welcome to the site.

Tips to get started -
    - The most obvious one first - write
    - if you know the particular style or genre you are writing in the Google tips on how to write a (add genre or style here) There are so many sites with tips and advice out there
    - ask specific questions on this site (have a good look at all the sections and topics to help you know where to post.)
    - some writers plan very thoroughly before they start writing and others do no planning at all. Many are in between, only planning at certain stages. Over time you will find out what works for you.
    - read lots of books in the style or genre you will be writing in to give an idea of what is publishable and look at what you do or don't like.

If you haven't written the story yet then I wouldn't spend too long worrying about publishing and editors just yet. Hopefully over time some of the published authors o here will be able to help you. Remember that this can differ hugely by genre and country.

Don't be afraid to join in and ask.

3. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor