1. DREWSKY

DREWSKY Member

Style New Writer, How to get over the hump?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by DREWSKY, Jan 4, 2021.

As I am just beginning my journey as a writer it's becoming impossible not to label everything I'm putting on the page as complete Horse Crap.

I love reading and have been exposed to many styles of writing over the years but without having practiced, none of this exposure seems to be relevant. In my current short story (flash fiction) every paragraph feels like a complete strain on my creative muscles. Not to mention a lack of understanding of punctuation, conventions in sentence structure, plots, ...

The ultimate goal is to be a bonafide and respected person in the writing community and publish my work.

Hit me with some inspiration of how you overcame a lack of self worth and confidence as a new writer. How did you continue on your path when everything you made was a complete train wreck or required ages to edit and complete?

Last edited: Jan 4, 2021
  2. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

Your first draft is not going to in any resemble the final draft of anything you write.

The important thing is to get it down. If, for example, you are writing a first novel, you will notice from the beginning to the end, how much you have improved--even in the first draft.

Writing is not easy. It takes effort, dedication and a focus on learning and improving. Often it is fun and interesting, but it is often work.

Hang in there and press on.

zoupskim, Xoic and DREWSKY like this.
  3. J.T. Woody

J.T. Woody Book Witch Contributor

I didnt start writing with the intention of selling or letting people read my stuf. I started writing because i wanting to get my stories out on page. I'd type them up, put them in a plastic paged binder, and that was the end of it. I guess, for that reason, i never thought my work was crap or became down on myself because i wasnt writing for anyone but myself. I wasnt trying to impress anyone.