1. ByElleJayce

ByElleJayce New Member

New writer - Need help with tense in descriptions.

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by ByElleJayce, Aug 18, 2020.

Hi everyone :)

I'm a new writer (just finished a first draft of a novel) but I just wanted to ask some advice on tense in descriptions.
    My wip is written in past simple (narrative) tense from a 1st person POV.
    I'm now at the editing/rewrite stage and I've realised I occasionally slip into present tense in my descriptions.

Eg when describing her home:
    My house IS a traditional terrace, built in the local stone.

Instead of:
    My house WAS a traditional terrace, built in the local stone.

Now the 2nd is past tense but to me, that makes it sound like her house no longer exists... or am I just going mad? Would using the word IS be wrong? Would it be switching tense?

Thankyou!

Elle x

2. Naomasa298

Naomasa298 HP: 10/190 Status: Confused Contributor

"Was" is fine. Don't be tempted to use "is", even if it feels right. It isn't, unless you then want to start using present tense when you describe the house, which would put it at odds with the rest of the work.

"Was" simply implies that the narrator no longer lives there, not necessarily that the house doesn't exist any more. If you want to make it clear that the house is still there, you can simply say that - slipping in to the present tense for that sentence would be fine. Using "is" would imply that the narrator still lives there. Now, you can do that if the narrator does indeed still live there, and is narrating the story in the present, but the story itself takes place in the past.

HTH.

Welcome to the forum.

3. ByElleJayce

ByElleJayce New Member

Thanks!
    That's the thing though... she does live there when this description is mentioned, and she lives there right through the rest of the book? I'll give the quote context: