1. Aiden Baker

Aiden Baker New Member

Newbie Here

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Aiden Baker, Sep 3, 2016.

Hello there! My name is Aiden Baker and I'm glad to be one of the newest members of this forum. I've been somewhat stalking this site for a little while now, contemplating when would be the best time to finally take the plunge. Naturally, I decided the start of my semester would be that optimal time. I figured that instead of procrastinating with Buzzfeed or YouTube, I'd try this instead. Hopefully help some people with their writing and forge some new friendships in the process. I'm looking forward to building some connections as I'm more than likely going to be moving to Canada next year (currently living in the US- and that's not just a Trump joke, I'm actually continuing my higher education there), so I'm looking for some constants in my life as I navigate through that process.

I do like to write (which probably doesn't come as a shock). Mostly these days, most of my writing consists of keeping a dream journal. Also, I'm currently collaborating with a friend on a supernatural novel. I experiment with different genres, but I generally prefer to write period pieces. I often feel like I was not born in the correct era, so I find it enjoyable working from different periods of history. My interest in period pieces also correlates with my literature preferences. I read a lot of historical non-fiction (primarily focused on medieval England and Europe, as well as parts of the American Civil War). I also have a particular interest in gender and economic inequality and LGBTQ narratives.