1. John Henry Patton

John Henry Patton New Member

Noob here with silly question!

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by John Henry Patton, Jan 5, 2018.

Hi all,

I have an idea for a novel, l have the plot more or less thought out.

What l would like to know is how you proceed before writing the novel, how do you prepare your plot.

Do you write it as a timeline, a document, start writing and just let it flow...

Thanks,

John

crappycabbage and BayView like this.
  2. The Dapper Hooligan

The Dapper Hooligan (V) ( ;,,;) (v) Contributor

Any and/or all/none. I like having ideas, writing treatments, planning out my acts and writing character sheets, but some people here just get a story idea in their head and start writing and see where it takes them. It all depends on what works best for you, and the only way you can figure that out is start writing. Good luck.

3. deadrats

deadrats Contributor Contributor

It seems like there have been a million threads started about the prewriting phase. Those should be easy to find and give you an idea of how other people do it. There is no wrong way. It's just something you are going to have to figure out on your own. So, why not just start? Start writing. Start outline. If you really want to do this, I don't see what you're waiting for. Good luck.

John Henry Patton likes this.
  4. Kalisto

Kalisto Senior Member

I just start my rough draft. At that point, I just want to enjoy my new idea and kind of figure what might and might not work. It's not until my first or second draft that I actually settle on any particular structure or make any decisions on themes.

5. crappycabbage

crappycabbage Member

I too dive in pretty quick. Usually I don't have much more than the story premise and maybe a little bit of noodling around to see if the premise has promise.