1. TheTranskinator

TheTranskinator New Member

...not sure...it's dark and I hear laughing... aww

Where Do I Start?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by TheTranskinator, Feb 20, 2012.

Let me start by saying that I'm an extremely new and self taught writer who has written nothing more than the start (which ranges from a prologue to a short chapter) of multiple story ideas I've had. Sadly none of them really panned out because I didn't think them out. But that's not the case right now.

The story I'm trying to write right now is one that I've been working on for over a year now. I've got the plot down. I have my characters made. I've created my fantasy world. But I just don't know where to start. Now I bet some of you are thinking, "That's just because you THINK you have everything down. Work on your stuff some more and it'll come to you!"

That's not the case. My problem is that my main characters story is so detailed that I simply don't know where to begin with him. I just need a little feedback on where you guys think I should start the story. And to do that, I'm going to give you some very vague descriptions of him.

There are a few things you need to know about my story first. One is that it is a fantasy story (think swords, bows, some magic, etc.) and is going to center around the relationship of two brothers (or lack thereof) who used to be very close. In fact my antagonist, who is the elder of the two brothers, was essentially the guardian, caretaker, and role model of the younger sibling. The younger sibling, who is the protagonist of my story, idolized his brother.

The problem with their relationship is that the antagonist made one selfish mistake (that he regrets deeply) that caused the deaths of everyone that my protagonist knew and loved. This leads my protagonist to become distrustful and angry, and eventually helps him narrow his focus in life to completing one simple goal. To find and kill his older brother.