1. Howard_B

Howard_B Active Member

For Men: Ladies skirt styles

Discussion in 'Research' started by Howard_B, Nov 17, 2014.

Ok I know it's a bit judgemental. Lots of men may know about these. But for what it's worth I have constant problems describing what woman in my books are wearing, and making it even slightly interesting.

This link to basic Skirt Styles has helped me a lot.

If anyone has any other links that would help I'd love to see them :D

2. Nilfiry

Nilfiry Senior Member

These kind of links are always helpful to me since I am not good with terms for the clothing category. The main problem that I have with describing dresses in general is whether or not I should just describe how they look using basic terms, like circle skirt, or if I should just make it easier on myself and name the style of the dress, even if it would seem out of place.

For example, using terms like "han fu" or "lolita" would make everything easier to portray, but it would not fit into the context of the story. I usually just end up describing everything using generic terms, but that becomes a bit of a research challenge on its own.

3. Howard_B

Howard_B Active Member

It's a real pain - I can visualise how I want my female characters to look but it is such a handicap not being able to describe them. This link is only one small step toward a solution for me :crazy: but a useful one.

4. chicagoliz

chicagoliz Contributor Contributor

Here's the thing. I would have no idea what you were talking about if you wrote that a woman was wearing a broomstick skirt.
    The description should be from the POV of the person observing the skirt. So, unless your character were particularly attuned to fashion, she or he would be unlikely to always be using the "proper" names of skirts.