1. Glen Barrington

Glen Barrington Senior Member

Novel Development 'Concepts'

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Glen Barrington, Sep 26, 2018.

Right now, I'm reading "The 12 Key Pillars of Novel Construction" By CS Lakin. Just in the first chapter, I've found a couple of points she makes, that I clearly needed to work on.

My question to the membership is do you find books of this sort helpful? I'm pretty new to fiction writing, though I've had a blog for years and have written some short stories in the past, do other people need this sort of help, or am I just SO new that I need the obvious stuff pointed out to me? I think I've got a lot of work ahead of me before I can start writing.

jannert and DK3654 like this.
  2. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor

Never honestly read anything on how to write, apart from parts of one on bad writing, because it was hilarious, as well as Stephen King's On Writing, because it was recommended by loads of people. Anyway, I have no idea. I know what I know by reading novels I enjoy and writing shitloads. However, I see nothing wrong with reading "how to" books. Both ways are fine, and with the help if solid advice maybe you'd reach your goal faster than someone like me, who tends to prefer trial and error.

I often find the "how to" genre far to waffly. They ramble on and on and in the space of 10 pages there might have been 1 single actually useful point. Don't have no time for that kinda waffling! Also, when you're a novice, it's hard to know which advice is good and which can be ignored, and which should be applied on a case by case basis. You can usually tell who's a newbie when it comes to critique if you get comments like, "See, just add 5 adjectives to the sentence to make it more descriptive! 'The blue dress' just reads so dull." Or, "Gasp. You used 'whispered' rather than 'said'. Delete it at once!"