1. Montag

Montag New Member

one-character story

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Montag, Sep 23, 2007.

I'm writing a story about a guy who is by himself for 90% of the time, which means it exists as huge chunks of description, with very little dialouge. I don't do much 'thinking' for him, cause I'm not that good at it.

Is this a bad thing? essentially, It just describes his actions and his environment, with an occasional simple thought or short confrontation with a human or animal.

Would this get monotonous after a while? I'm aiming at around 10k words by the way.

2. EyezForYou

EyezForYou Active Member

No.

Read Jack London's "To Build a Fire."

3. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

Montag,

I guess it depends on the conflict or driving events in the story. What happens and why. Just describing actions or events with minor confrontations, odds are that it will get kind of monotonous to a reader.

If I recall accurately, "To Build a Fire", by Jack London is similar to what you're suggesting: Mainly one character, some minor encounters, etc. But there is the struggle to survive against the extreme cold--the conflict.

If you're going for something like that, it could very easily work.

Terry

4. TWErvin2

Hahahaha, EyezForYou,
    I was responding to the original question even as you were posting...thinking along the same lines. It's a story that's stuck with me over the years.

Terry

5. Montag

Montag New Member

Haha well done guys :p.

I'll try to find that book. I think the events are exciting/scary/weird enough to keep the reader going to the next one, so I'll just continue for now and see how it looks.

Thanks.

6. TWErvin2

Montag,

You should be able to find an anthology with London's story "To Build a Fire" in it at a local library.