1. aeustin

aeustin New Member

Novel When is it time to finally start writing my novel?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by aeustin, Nov 5, 2014.

Hello!

I'm new around here... Name's Austin, I'm from the windy lakeside city of Detroit. I've been a writer for my whole life, I'm 18 now and decided to get serious about it.

I used to write a lot when I was in school, then I suffered a double concussion while playing football three years ago and for some reason lost my creative spark. I'm fighting through it to inspire myself again, and it has been a success thus far. I have been working on a story this past year that is heavily inspired by my favorite novel, A Canticle for Liebowitz by Walter M. Miller Jr. (even got its cover art tattooed on my arm) set in a post apocalyptic stone age where man has regressed back to his roots following a global catastrophe. It follows a young chieftess in the plains of Idaho who wages war on the nations on the east and west coast via horsemen a la Genghis Khan and establishes an empire. It is going to be split into three parts told from different perspectives at different times. I already have tons of notes, family trees and maps written for the first part of the story that concerns the chieftess. I just don't know when to start writing! Everyday I am adding onto the notes but not actually writing the story.

If anyone can help me out with this I'd love it!

Thanks
    Austin

2. shadowwalker

shadowwalker Contributor Contributor

Start now.

Vandor76 likes this.
  3. EllBeEss

EllBeEss Senior Member

It can sometimes be hard to settle down and write something you're so attached to and I understand what it's like to want to get all the details perfect so nothing will stump you but it's better to just start writing. Everything will more or less fall into place as you go and if not you can worry about perfecting everything when you've finished it.

4. Vandor76

Vandor76 Senior Member