1. highwaymanlee

highwaymanlee Active Member

should i add a love story into my story

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by highwaymanlee, Jan 3, 2012.

im writing a story and im thinking about if i should add a love intrest for my mc. the story itself isnt about love. its about a war set in medevil times in a fantsy world. the only magic is healing. im telling you that so you can see what type of world it is.
    my main problem is that im not good at writing love stories or bringing love into my stories. i think it would make my story more realistic and provide someone for my mc to confide in. but i cant seem to figure out how to add love to my story. ive tried and i cant seem to make it sound natural, it always feels forced. so my question is should i bring love into my story and if so what are some tips on how to make it feel natural instead of forced.

2. mazg

mazg New Member

I'm debating the same thing. My thoughts are it could be a love story, with full on passionate scenes or could be an admiration from afar (an unrequited love interest). Enough that it explains why your mc confides but you never have to get into either mushy or sexy scenes. If you write from both characters points of view it could even be a situation where they are both in love but neither one is prepared to admit it out of fear that it isn't reciprocated.

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

you shouldn't 'add' it simply to provide some romance and sex... if it's vital to the plot then it should be there... otherwise, it'll probably stick out like a sore thumb and do more harm than good...

4. tcol4417

tcol4417 Member

You used the phrase "add a love interest", so please don't.

The fact that you said it like that means that you're thinking off adding it like an ingredient to a cake: If the cake in its cake-ness doesn't depend on it and you aren't apt at improving cakes, please, please don't.