Tags:
  1. Ashley Bird

Ashley Bird Member

Outlines

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Ashley Bird, Jul 6, 2018.

Hello writers,
    I've started working on a project that is more ambitious than my usual so I've been trying to lay out an outline. Trouble is I've never done one of these before and I'm basically going off instinct. Was wondering if anyone that's done this has any advice, what to include, how much detail and that sort of thing.
    Thanks

2. Lew

Lew Contributor Contributor

I am doing much more detailed planning on this one, because I have actual historical events, that have locations in time and place, and I have characters that have to arrive to interact with them. My wife @K McIntyre is also doing a similar work, hers set in WWII, which of course some very well-defined and well-known battles that her MC has to be present for. What we both did for starts is to create a timeline, years subdivided into months horizontally across the top, and underneath the hard historical events that define the story: Dunkirk, el Alamein, etc in hers, the Roman invasion of Armenia, expansion into Mesopotamia in mine. Vertically down the side, we have our fictional characters, where they are, where they are going, what they are doing, in each of the time blocks. i.e, in the August 113AD time block opposite my fictional character Aulus, I have "leaves Rome with Emperor Trajan for Athens." Which happens to align under the actual historical event "Trajan leaves Rome for Athens to meet with Parthians" in August 113. That meeting took place in October so I have six weeks to two months for them to get there, partly by sea at 200 miles per day, partly by land at 40 miles per day.