1. Member 36723

Member 36723 Guest

How much time from script to film? And 2 more questions...

Discussion in 'Scripts and screenplays' started by Member 36723, Sep 8, 2013.

If you sell your script, and it is approved for production, how long will it take for it to become a film/TV episode/TV pilot?

What do you like about writing scripts in general and over writing short stories?

Does it matter if you study English Literature or Film to be a screenwriter?

2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

I have moved your thread to the General Writing area of the forum. The area wherein you had placed this thread if for the critiquing of actual script material.

[​IMG]

3. erebh

erebh Banned Contributor

I'd imagine a damned long time, from acceptance they'd have to find funding, actors, locations and probably tons more stuff then have to tie it all in with schedules of the actors and producers and weather and probably another gazillion things.

I have no experience of this but I'd imagine if everything went to plan - a couple of years...

Oh and also before it is aired, they have to sell commercials and tie in with TV Channels... Don't plan on watching it for probably another year after it's been edited.

4. Nightstar99

Nightstar99 Senior Member

I interviewed a relatively successful screen writer earlier in the year. She said that your chances of writing a script and selling it anywhere are really pretty slight. In her career she has found the scripts she has written to be useful in generating other commissions for projects that are already approved.' i.e, we dont want to shoot your script but you are obviously good so we would like to hire you to write on this upcoming project'.

It seems that in TV and film there really aren't many occasions where there are directors who will respond to random submissions. Usually funding for a project is arranged in advance and then they look for writers.