1. NomDeGuerre

NomDeGuerre Member

Past Tense and Future Tense together is OK???

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by NomDeGuerre, Mar 18, 2017.

Hey all,

I'm trying to use future tense, "will" in a narrative that's in past tense. I understand there are no inflected forms for the future, unlike verbs that need "-ed" or "s" at the end. But I've also read that you need to substitute "would" in place of "will" for past tense. It's all very confusing. Anyway, this is a sample I made up and wondering if it's just too awkward sounding (thanks!!!) --

He resumed loading his weapon, pushing in a shotgun shell. Two hours from now, after the massacre, people will ask him where he got the gun from. And he will refuse to answer.

2. Spencer1990

Spencer1990 Contributor Contributor

I think what you have is fine. I'm no expert on these kinds of things, but if I read this in a novel or short story, I wouldn't think twice about it.

What you have, now, works if you intend for the narrator to be existing between the massacre and when "people will ask him where he..." If you intend for your narrator to be retelling this event (whether character or non-character) AFTER both the massacre and questions, then you need would.

3. OJB

OJB A Mean Old Man Contributor

There is an essay I read (I'll have to find it) but it stated (again grammar is not my strongest point) if you write in past tense you have the option of using all 12 tenses (vs present tense where you only can use four of the 12.).

Personally, this reads fine to me.

4. Arcadeus

Arcadeus Senior Member