Tags:
  1. ECgirl19

ECgirl19 New Member

Pen names

Discussion in 'Publishing' started by ECgirl19, May 21, 2019.

Hi All, I am new to writing and writing forums.

I have considered using a pen name for my books which are unpublished at present.
    I was wondering, why do people use a pen name?
    What are the pros and cons to them?

Sorry If this topic has been covered many times.
    Thanks
    [​IMG]

2. HeathBar

HeathBar Member

I haven't published anything yet (outside of professional articles for my day job), but if/when I do, I will use a pen name. This is for both professional reasons (want to keep writing and day job separate) and personal reasons (my writing draws heavily from my life and prefer to maintain some semblance of privacy [to the extent anyone ever reads my stuff besides my husband]).

3. Laurin Kelly

Laurin Kelly Contributor Contributor

I use a pen name because I write Romance books with explicit sexual content, and for personal and professional reasons I don't need that getting associated with my real name. Also, my real last name is not terribly elegant and difficult to pronounce, so even if I wrote G-rated stuff I'd probably use a pseudonym anyway.

4. deadrats

deadrats Contributor Contributor